When I came across this article and video, I could not help thinking about ebook readers filling a niche by being helpful for the visually impaired and disabled.

Suffering from glaucoma and an English Lit major, Virginia Campbell could not properly read, write and use a computer until she got an iPad.

Watch this wonderful video and read the article: http://www.oregonlive.com/lake-oswego/index.ssf/2010/04/video_of_99-year-old_lake_oswego_woman_with_ipad_goes_viral.html

And here is Virginia’s limerick:

“To this technology-ninny it’s clear
In my compromised 100th year,
That to read and to write
Are again within sight
Of this Apple iPad pioneer.”

This shows how the iPad (including eBook readers) can open a whole new world for the disenfranchised. I have seen how the iPad would be perfect for my elderly and disabled relatives – including my mom who has visual impairment and can only read large-print books, and my brain-damaged sister who really wants to use a computer but is too hard for her still).

Now this is what I call exciting.

